Databases shown in class:
3. Student Resources in Context
Extra -- 4. Science in Context
5. World/U.S. History in Context
1 Humanities
Ms. Loeppert and Mr. Stanek
1st Quarter Project: Biography Research Paper
(200 Summative Points Possible in English and History)
This year will focus on the role that the individual plays in the community. As you will see in the literary texts we will discuss, a single person can sometimes change the world through her or his actions. In history class you will see how an individual who identifies an injustice in the world can sometimes put an end to that injustice.
The topic of your research paper must focus on a specific cause that you find interesting and an individual who defended that cause. Since our first semester survey of history in 1 Humanities History ends in the year 1800, your paper’s topic must come from any point in history before the year 1800. Attached is a list of possible causes and the individuals who championed them. Your job is to research the social or political situation that the individual encountered in her or his society and then to explain how the individual changed or attempted to change society.
GENERAL DUE DATES:
9/24-25 Freshman Research Paper introduced and assigned.
9/29-10/7 Class meets for double periods.
Source Evaluation/Annotation/Works Cited Page Rough Draft
The Library Planning packet asks you to assess your sources as you locate them, formulate a claim/thesis statement, a sub claim, and then produce the works cited page. This will count as a part of the grade for Works Cited/Annotation of Sources. This will be due at the end of class on the second day we are in the library.
10/8-14 Work days asynchronously (on your own) and in class (in both English and history classes)
10/14 Final Essay and Works Cited Page Due (200 Points)
RESEARCH PAPER ASSIGNMENT SPECIFICS
Works Cited Page and Evaluation of Sources
VALUE: 100 Points
RUBRIC: We will use the rubric entitled Freshman Research Rubric A/AEHC 1 to grade your works cited page, and your choice/evaluation of sources. Your Library Planning Packet will also count as annotation of your sources.
SOURCES: You must find at least 3 sources to include in your works cited page:
Your sources should be books, scholarly articles or periodicals, most of which you will access through the online databases.
You must use all of your sources in your parenthetical citations.
You may not use any general encyclopedia articles.
Internet sources with no date or author are not valid research sources.
All sources must be approved by Mr. Stanek.
WORKS CITED PAGE: You must have a works cited page that includes all 3 of your sources:
The sources should be formatted in MLA format (wording, spacing, punctuation, indentation). Most of the sources that come from the databases will have a citation in MLA format that you can just copy and paste into your works cited page.
The page must also be typed and formatted in manuscript form (1” margins, 12 point Times New Roman font, spacing, etc.).
If you have more than 3 sources, these must be listed as well.
List the sources in alphabetical order.
Title the page Works Cited
Remember to CHOOSE MLA FORMAT in the sources that offer a citation
The Research Paper Essay
VALUE: 100 Points
RUBRIC: We will use the rubric entitled Freshman Research Rubric Claim/Sub-Claim/Evidence/AEHC 2 to grade your research paper.
LENGTH: 3-4 pages typed in 12 point Times New Roman font, double spaced. These 3-4 pages do NOT include the works cited page
CLAIM/ SUBCLAIM: Your claim/ thesis statement should clearly state that the individual changed their society in a specific way. The sub claim in the second body paragraph should then clearly explain how the individual was able to change their society in a specific way. See the attached writing checklist for specific information regarding the organization and content of the essay.
REASONING/EVIDENCE: Your analysis should support the sub claim through facts, ideas, and direct quotations that come from your 3 sources.
PARENTHETICAL/IN-TEXT CITATIONS: Since there are at least 3 sources in your works cited page, there should be a minimum of 3 parenthetical citations in your paper. You must cite all direct quotations, paraphrased information, statistics, or any other ideas that are not your own.
ESSAY WRITING INSTRUCTIONS
CONTENT/STRUCTURE: (Please note that the sentence counts below serve just as guidelines—you can compose more or fewer at your discretion)
Introduction: This paragraph should include:
"Grabber/Lead” Sentence: A sentence that gets our attention and makes us want to read your essay.
Background Information (2-3 sentences briefly introducing the cause and individual)
The Thesis Statement (Underlined): 1 sentence that tells the reader what the essay will prove. (Hint: The thesis should state that the individual changed her or his society in a specific way)
The Organizational Statement: 1-2 sentences that tell the reader how the essay will be organized. (Hint: This is where you provide the layout for your essay, a “roadmap”)
Transition Sentence--1 sentence that provides a clear transition to the content in the next paragraph (Hint: refer to the next topic to be discussed—the society that the individual lived in)
Style Reminder: Do not refer directly to your essay and do not use 1st or 2nd person point-of-view. i.e. Do not write: “In the next paragraph I will talk about…” or “the thesis of the paper is…”
Body Paragraph One: This paragraph should present the individual’s society and include:
Topic Sentence: 1 sentence that clearly introduces the focus of the paragraph (Hint: refer to the society that the individual lived in)
Description of the individual’s society: In order to appreciate how the individual changed her or his society, first establish what the society was like. In 5-6 sentences, describe the society, providing any pertinent details that relate to the thesis. What was wrong with the society? What did the individual want to change? This is where you will establish what the individual would have encountered socially, politically, and/or artistically in society.
Parenthetical Citations: Remember that you need to cite any ideas that are not yours. All quotes or paraphrase/ideas should be cited in manuscript form and correctly punctuated.
Transition Sentence--1 sentence that provides a clear transition to the content in the next paragraph (Hint: refer to the next topic to be discussed—how the individual attempted to change her or his society)
Style Reminder: Do not refer directly to your essay and do not use 1st or 2nd person point-of-view. i.e. Do not write: “This paragraph will be about…” or “in the next paragraph you will learn about…”
Body Paragraph Two: This paragraph should explain ONE of the ways the individual changed society:
Topic Sentence: State Sub claim here. This sub claim (1 sentence) presents one of the ways the individual changed society.
Reasoning/Evidence of Research: In 5-6 sentences explain how the individual changed their society, presenting 3 or more facts/ideas that come from your research
Choice of Quotations: Provide quotations that clearly support the reasoning
Analysis of Quotations: 1-2 sentences that clearly connect the quotations to the reasoning.
Parenthetical Citations: All quotes or paraphrase/ideas should be cited in manuscript form and correctly punctuated.
Transition Sentence--1 sentence that provides a clear transition to the content in the next paragraph
Style Reminder: Do not refer directly to your essay and do not use 1st or 2nd person point-of-view. i.e. Do not write: “The sub claim is…” or “in the next paragraph I will talk about…”
Conclusion:
Topic Sentence: 1 sentence that states the importance/relevance of your individual to their society and to the modern world.
Concluding Analysis: 3-4 sentences that explain the results of your individual’s work in their society. How is their society different as a result of their work?
Concluding Analysis: 3-4 sentences that briefly discuss the overall relevance/importance of your topic to the modern world.
Concluding Sentences: 1-2 sentences that present the implications of your cause and figure for the future
Style Reminder: Do not refer directly to your essay and do not use 1st or 2nd person point-of-view. i.e. Do not write “In conclusion” or “I hope you enjoyed reading my essay…”
MECHANICS:
William Chat-Sauvage 1 Humanities, Periods Two-Three Ms. Loeppert and Mr. Stanek October 1, 2018 |
|
1st Quarter Project Topics: Individuals and their Causes
|
Conquerors/Military Leaders Alexander the Great Ashoka- emperor Boudicca-queen who revolted against the Romans Charlemagne-emperor Christopher Columbus Empress Theodora/Byzantium Genghis Khan-Mongol leader Hannibal Henry IV (France)- King Joan of Arc Julius Caesar Justinian- Roman emperor Leif Ericsson Louis XIV-King of France Mehmet II- Turkish sultan Napoleon Bonaparte Philip II- emperor Saladin-Turkish general during the Crusades The Kahina-queen,military and religious leader in N.Africa William the Conqueror |
Politicians Akenaten (Amenhotep IV) Alfred the Great Catherine d’ Medici- queen of France Catherine the Great Charlotte Corday (assassin) Cleisthenes- Athenian leader Cleopatra-Egyptian queen Eleanor of Aquitaine Hatsheput Isabella of Castile Lorenzo de Medici Mansa Musa- African leader Metternich- Austrian politician Nefertiti Pericles- Athenian leader Queen Elizabeth I Simon d’Monfort Solon-Athenian lawmaker Toussaint L’Ouverture-leader of slave revolt Zenobia of Palmyra-Syrian queen who revolted against the Romans |
Scientists Charles Darwin-scientist Copernicus-scientist Galileo-scientist Hypatia-Egyptian female scientist and teacher Leeuwenhoek- scientist, inventor Leonardo da Vinci Michael Servetus-scientist, Humanist, theologian Newton-scientist Pythagoras Thales of Miletus-philosopher Vesalius-scientist |
Religious Leaders Aicha al-Manubyyia/Lella Moanoubia-female Sufi religious teacher in N.Africa Augustine Bartholemew de las Casas Dona Beatriz Kimpa Vita Nsimba-Prophetess and founder of Christian sect in Kongo, Africa Francis of Asissi Helen (mother of Constantine) Hildegarde of Bingen Ignatius Loyola- religious leader Jesus of Nazareth John Calvin John Wycliffe-religious reformer Julian of Norwich Khadija bint Khuwaylid (wife of Muhammad) Martin Luther- religious leader Moses Maimonedes Moses- religious leader Muhammad Paul of Tarsus-religious leader Siddhartha Guatama- founder of Buddhism Tomas Torqemada |
|
Artists Aguissola-female painter Beethoven Donatello Gentileschi-female painter J.S. Bach Michelangelo Palestrina- musician Raphael W.A. Mozart |
Writers Castiglione Geoffrey of Monmouth Ibn Battuta Isabella d’Este Jane Austen Machiavelli Olympe de Gouges-female writer Petrarch-Renaissance writer Thucydides- Greek historian William Blake William Shakespeare |
Philosophers Adam Smith-philosopher Aristotle- philosopher Confucius-philosopher Ibn-Sina (Avicenna)- philosopher J.J. Rousseau- philosopher J.S. Mill-philosopher Karl Marx Lao Tzu-philosopher Michel de Montaigne Sappho Socrates-philosopher Voltaire-philosopher |
Parenthetical Citations Overview
What is a Parenthetical Citation?
A Parenthetical Citation is set of parentheses ( ) that indicates exactly where a statistic, direct quote, or fact comes from originally. The citation directly follows the sentence containing the statistic, quotation, or fact.
What to Cite:
Any direct quotations, statistics, or specific facts should be cited in parenthetical citations.
What goes inside the Parentheses:
For this project, you located and read articles and books that contained both an author’s or editor’s name and, depending on the source, page number(s). The parentheses should contain the last name of the author/editor followed by the page number on which the information was found. If using a source that does not include a page number, record just the author’s last name. If the source does not have an author, record the editor’s last name. If you found a source with no author, no editor, and it was still approved by Mr, Stanek, then just record the name of the article, in quotations marks, inside the parentheses.
A Source with both an author’s/editor’s last name and page number:
The law states that employers can monitor their employees with “a hidden video camera” and can even position a video camera so that “a number of employees can be monitored at the same time” (Lane 147).
A source with just an author’s/editor’s name, but no page number:
85% of American companies monitor their employees via video camera, but often this practice results in low morale. 95% of employees surveyed reported that they do not feel comfortable working in an environment where cameras are used (Morris).
An online source with no author, editor or page number:
“Monitoring individuals via video without their knowledge is illegal in some countries” (“Who is Watching Us”).
How to Integrate a Parenthetical Citation into a Sentence or Paragraph:
The parenthetical citation should appear at the end of the sentence(s) that include the direct quotation, statistic or facts. The period that normally would appear at the very end of the sentence should now appear after the parenthetical citation. See the 3 examples above.
However if you use a quote that ends in a question mark or exclamation point, these marks remain inside of the quotation marks, but then you will add a period after the parentheses.
A direct quotation that ends in a question mark/exclamation point:
“I just don’t understand why this issue is such a big deal. Why do people care so much?” (Morris 2).
ESSAY WRITING INSTRUCTIONS
CONTENT/STRUCTURE: (Please note that the sentence counts below serve just as guidelines—you can compose more or fewer at your discretion)
Introduction: This paragraph should include:
"Grabber/Lead” Sentence: A sentence that gets our attention and makes us want to read your essay.
Background Information (2-3 sentences briefly introducing the cause and individual)
The Thesis Statement (Underlined): 1 sentence that tells the reader what the essay will prove. (Hint: The thesis should state that the individual changed her or his society in a specific way)
The Organizational Statement: 1-2 sentences that tell the reader how the essay will be organized. (Hint: This is where you provide the layout for your essay, a “roadmap”)
Transition Sentence--1 sentence that provides a clear transition to the content in the next paragraph (Hint: refer to the next topic to be discussed—the society that the individual lived in)
Style Reminder: Do not refer directly to your essay and do not use 1st or 2nd person point-of-view. i.e. Do not write: “In the next paragraph I will talk about…” or “the thesis of the paper is…”
Body Paragraph One: This paragraph should present the individual’s society and include:
Topic Sentence: 1 sentence that clearly introduces the focus of the paragraph (Hint: refer to the society that the individual lived in)
Description of the individual’s society: In order to appreciate how the individual changed her or his society, first establish what the society was like. In 5-6 sentences, describe the society, providing any pertinent details that relate to the thesis. What was wrong with the society? What did the individual want to change? This is where you will establish what the individual would have encountered socially, politically, and/or artistically in society.
Parenthetical Citations: Remember that you need to cite any ideas that are not yours. All quotes or paraphrase/ideas should be cited in manuscript form and correctly punctuated.
Transition Sentence--1 sentence that provides a clear transition to the content in the next paragraph (Hint: refer to the next topic to be discussed—how the individual attempted to change her or his society)
Style Reminder: Do not refer directly to your essay and do not use 1st or 2nd person point-of-view. i.e. Do not write: “This paragraph will be about…” or “in the next paragraph you will learn about…”
Body Paragraph Two: This paragraph should explain ONE of the ways the individual changed society:
Topic Sentence: State Sub claim here. This sub claim (1 sentence) presents one of the ways the individual changed society.
Reasoning/Evidence of Research: In 5-6 sentences explain how the individual changed their society, presenting 3 or more facts/ideas that come from your research
Choice of Quotations: Provide quotations that clearly support the reasoning
Analysis of Quotations: 1-2 sentences that clearly connect the quotations to the reasoning.
Parenthetical Citations: All quotes or paraphrase/ideas should be cited in manuscript form and correctly punctuated.
Transition Sentence--1 sentence that provides a clear transition to the content in the next paragraph
Style Reminder: Do not refer directly to your essay and do not use 1st or 2nd person point-of-view. i.e. Do not write: “The sub claim is…” or “in the next paragraph I will talk about…”
Conclusion:
Topic Sentence: 1 sentence that states the importance/relevance of your individual to their society and to the modern world.
Concluding Analysis: 3-4 sentences that explain the results of your individual’s work in their society. How is their society different as a result of their work?
Concluding Analysis: 3-4 sentences that briefly discuss the overall relevance/importance of your topic to the modern world.
Concluding Sentences: 1-2 sentences that present the implications of your cause and figure for the future
Style Reminder: Do not refer directly to your essay and do not use 1st or 2nd person point-of-view. i.e. Do not write “In conclusion” or “I hope you enjoyed reading my essay…”
MECHANICS:
1st Quarter Project Topics: Individuals and their Causes