Opposing Viewpoints in Context
**Remember!: All databases can only be accessed by clicking on the Access Online Materials from Home link first. You can find this link under Online Tools off of the ETHS Homepage (ETHS Homepage > Online Tools > Access Online Materials from Home). You can also watch the screencast on ACCESSING THE DATABASES FROM HOME! on this LibGuide.
Depending on your topic, the databases below (as well as others) will also likely be helpful:
Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society
Mr. Latham - lathamw@eths202.org
Ms. Simon - simonm@eths202.org
AP Block - Mr Brown
Junior Research Project - Unit Overview and Calendar
During this unit, we will focus on the last of the three major types of writing tested on the AP English Language and Composition exam: “synthesis.” Actually, the civil disobedience letters project was itself a kind of synthesis, since it required you to integrate your arguments with those of sources that were provided for you. The big change now is that instead of being told what to write about, and which sources to you will be using, both of those are up to you (within some limits).
Overall Research paper Assignment: Your junior research project must center around a topic rooted in your personal experience. It must integrate various types of research to argue in support of a debatable proposition about fact, value or policy which meaningfully engages with the pursuit of social justice. It should be written with a specific audience within your life in mind - this could be one or more friends, family members, teachers, coworkers, bosses, etc. Your purpose should be persuasive in nature.
This is a very broad, flexible assignment. In order to provide some structure, and to maximize the chances that the end result is something you will be proud of, over the next 4 weeks of class you will work through 3 graded steps. This work will run through the end of the semester. Along the way, you will also complete two AP synthesis in-class essays.
Your final product will need to meaningfully integrate your personal experience and three sources of various types. If you choose to complete a traditional formal paper, your paper must be 1200-1800 words (4-6 pages double spaced).
(Day by Day Calendar and detailed explanations on following page)
Day by Day Calendar
|
Monday |
Day One - Tuesday for 1 and 2, Wednesday for 7 and 8 |
Day Two - Thursday for 1 and 2, Friday for 7 and 8 |
|||
|
1 |
November 16 Unit 3 Civil Disobedience Letters Project Due |
November 17/18 ` Double Block Meeting Introduction to Research Project, Individual Conferences, Work Time |
November 19/20 Double Block Meeting Individual Conferences, Work Time Topic Ideas Worksheet Due |
||
|
November 23 Fall Break- No Class |
November 24/25 Fall Break - No Class |
November 26/27 Fall Break- No Class |
|||
|
2 |
November 30 Asynchronous Work - Question and Thesis Statement Worksheet |
December 1/2 Library/Work Time - Focus on Outlining, Sources |
December 3/4 Writing Lesson and Synthesis Essay |
||
|
3 |
December 7 Asynchronous Work - Outline/Plan for Research Paper |
December 8/9 Library Work Time - Focus on Sources |
December 10/11 Writing Lesson and Synthesis Essay |
||
|
4 |
December 14 Asynchronous Time LIGHTLY Annotated Bibliography Due |
December 15/16 Conferences/Work Time |
December 17/18 Conferences/Work Time FINAL DRAFT OF RESEARCH PAPER IS DUE |
||
AP Lang & Comp
Mr. Brown
Junior Research Paper Rough Draft/Final Draft Rubric
Summary
Now that you have developed a thesis, outline and worked through an annotated bibliography, you must write a researched argumentative essay that centers around a topic rooted in your personal experience. It must cite at least 5 sources, including one article from a scholarly database, one book, and one primarily non-written source, and argue in support of a debatable proposition about fact, value or policy which meaningfully engages with the pursuit of social justice.
Focus means taking a controversial stance on a claim that emerges clearly through the course of the essay, a claim that contains clear social-justice-related implications. Support means including an appropriate number of quotations and paraphrases drawn from the sources you have discovered, AND ALSO drawing meaningfully from your own personal experience.. YOUR ESSAY MUST CITE 5 SOURCES including a book, an article from a database, and a primarily non-written source. Analysis means showing an understanding of the logic of your own arguments as well as that of your sources and of relevant counterarguments. Organize your essay in a manner appropriate to your task - whether your argument is fact, value, or policy-oriented is very important to this end. Your Style should balance the formality of an argumentative essay with the development of your own personal voice. As far as Grammar and Mechanics goes - format your citations and Works Cited page using MLA format. Make sure all to cite all information which needs to be cited and or place in quotation marks all words which are not your own.
Your rough draft should include your essay as well as a Works Cited page.
You should submit your rough draft to to turnitin.com.
Your rough draft is due Monday, December 9 at the start of your English class.
Grading Rubric - Your essay will be graded holistically but you will receive sub-scores on the following criteria:
|
Goal |
Needs Improvement |
Satisfactory |
Proficient |
Excellent |
|
Focus |
The essay shows little success responding to a controversial question of fact, value or policy or establishing a clear stance, or speaking to issues of social justice |
The essay shows difficulty responding to the controversial question of fact, value or policy, or establishing a clear stance, or speaking to issues of social justice |
The essay adequately responds to a controversial question of fact, value or policy, and adequately establishes a clear stance that speaks to issues of social justice |
The essay effectively responds to a controversial question of fact, value or policy and effectively establishes a clear stance which is persuasive on issues of social justice |
|
Support |
Sources and personal examples/experiences used are unrelated, inaccurate, or inappropriate, in quantity or quality - or - fewer than 5 sources are cited and/or the wrong types of sources are cited. |
5 sources, including 3 of the assigned types, are cited. Sources and personal examples/experiences may be insufficient or inappropriate, in quantity or quality |
5 sources, including 3 3 of the assigned types, are cited. Sources and personal examples/experiences used are appropriate, both in quantity and quality |
5 sources, including 3 of the assigned types, are cited. Sources and personal examples/experiences used are appropriate and particularly well-chosen, both in quantity and quality |
|
Analysis |
Essay shows little success in exploring the reasoning or internal logic of its position or the positions of sources cited. |
Essay inadequately explores the reasoning or internal logic of its position or the positions of sources cited. |
Essay adequately explores the reasoning and internal logic of its position and the positions of sources cited. |
Essay effectively and insightfully explore the of reasoning and internal logic of its position and the positions of sources cited. |
|
Organization |
The essay shows little success arranging its main ideas. |
The essay inadequately or inconsistently arranges its main ideas. |
The essay adequately and consistently arranges its main ideas. |
The essay effectively arranges its main ideas in a way that substantially contributes to its persuasiveness. |
|
Style |
The writing shows little success conveying the author’s ideas or uses an inappropriate voice to do so. |
The writing inadequately conveys the author’s ideas, or struggles to find an appropriate voice. |
The writing adequately conveys the author’s ideas, and employs an appropriate voice. |
The writing effectively conveys the author’s ideas, and employs an appropriate and particularly expressive voice to do so. |
|
Grammar and Mechanics |
The essay contain mistakes which significantly distract from the essay and/or largely fails to follow MLA format (including appropriate citation) |
The writing generally conveys the author’s ideas, but may contain mistakes which distract from the essay and/or inadequately follows MLA format (including appropriate citation) |
The writing is generally clear, but may contain some mistakes, and adequately follows MLA format (including appropriate citation) |
The writing demonstrates an ability to communicate effectively and appropriately but is not necessarily free of mistakes, and effectively follows MLA format (including appropriate citation) |