Use this link if you are IN SCHOOL:
3. UMI Proquest
Use this link if you are AT HOME:
3. UMI Proquest
The Annotated Bibliography
Introduction
What is an Annotated Bibliography?
A bibliography is a list of sources used in a research project. An annotated bibliography takes it further. In addition to listing each source, you also summarize the source, assess its reliability, and reflect on how the source will be useful for you in this project.
Overview:
Your annotated bibliography will have 1 source, but you will include at least 3 sources in your paper that you will take notes on separately.
Each entry will include:
Bibliographic Citation in MLA format
Summary of the source
Assessment of its reliability
Reflection on its usefulness
Detailed Instructions for Entry
1. Bibliographic Citation
Using proper MLA format, state the title, author, publication date, etc. Refer to this website for guidelines: http://www.library.cornell.edu/resrch/citmanage/mla#list. Or, you may use www.zbib.org to help you create an MLA citation for each of your sources.
2. Summary (6 sentence minimum)
Write a one-paragraph summary that includes all of the following:
What is the topic of the article?
What are the main points or arguments the author is making?
What are 3 - 4 key facts or examples in this article?
3. Reliability Assessment (6 sentence minimum)
Write a one-paragraph assessment that includes all of the following:
Who is the author, and what are his/her qualifications?
Is the information current or outdated?
In what way does this source reveal the author’s bias?
Overall, how do you know that this is a reliable source?
4. Reflection (6 sentence minimum)
Write a one-paragraph reflection that includes all of the following:
How can you use this source in your research project? How does it offer insight about an ethical dilemma?
What information or perspectives does this source not provide?