English III- Earned Honors
Dear Class of 2025,
The Junior Research Paper is given to all juniors at ETHS each year. The goal of this paper is to help prepare you to conduct, read, and analyze research; skills which will be beneficial to you as you pursue college, careers, and life as an informed and contributing member of our society.
You will be able to choose your topic for this paper, but it must be from your CAREER interest, AND you must get approval from Ms. Nord Hamilton or one of our librarians before you begin to research.
As we work in class over the quarter, be your own best advocate and work hard to stay focused; missing the deadlines provided will create challenges and stress down the line. Treat yourself well! This project is broken down into smaller assignments as much as possible, and each assignment will have a more in depth explanation on what to accomplish during that step in the process.
For your paper, you must:
● Make a researched argument regarding your interest, with a thesis statement, claims, and counterclaim
● Use SEVEN (7) sources (at least 2 articles [at least one should be a scholarly article], one book (can just be an excerpt), and one form of digital media [documentary, TED Talk, speech, etc])
○ Sources must be credible and unbiased.
○ Turn in a minimum of 25 digital notecards, no more than 5 pieces of evidence per source
● Write in MLA format
● Create an annotated bibliography
● Write a 950-1500 words (double spaced, Times New Roman)
● Follow the attached calendar, which includes dates
● Complete a total of 15 different assignments that are part of your JRP; we will work together to achieve success!
1
***A note about plagiarism***
Plagiarism is the use of someone else’s words, ideas, or work as if it were your own. This includes not citing sources in your paper. Even if you paraphrase someone else, you must cite them as a source.
To avoid plagiarism always cite your sources in proper MLA format or use in-text citations. Remember that when you are using someone else’s words or ideas, you must give context and analyze it in your own words.
Any paper that is plagiarized to any extent will receive a 0 (ZERO). You will NOT be able to pass the quarter without completing the research paper. Digital authenticity reports will be run on each draft of your paper.
Drafts will be submitted to TurnItIn.com and/or Google Classroom, which will run final checks for plagiarism.
JRP Calendar: Class of 2025!
|
Monday |
Tuesday/Wednesday |
Thursday/Friday |
WA |
1/17
OFF
1/22
In A238
● Pre-Research Due
● Guardian Slip ● Continue
In Central Library ● Introduction to project, library
and research
● Intro to Lib
Guide
● Guardian slip sent home
● Day 1 Careers investigated
In A238
● Continue with Research
In Central Library
● Day 1 Careers due at the START of class
● Continue gathering
information
● Noodle Tools and Note Card Intro
In Central Library
● Continue with Research Sources 1+2 due
Wildkit
Academy on 1/27
*Ms. Nord
will NOT be there, but
2
|
with Research |
other junior English teachers will be there to assist! |
||
|
1/29 In A238 ● Source 3 due |
In A238 ● Research Continued Sources 4+5 due |
In Central Library, first half Outline Introduced + Evidence Collection Introduced |
|
|
2/5 In A238 Outline Continued Evidence Collection Due 2/12 Paper Writing 2/19 NO SCHOOL |
In A238 Outline Due In A238 Paper Writing In A238 Annotated Bibliography Introduced |
In A238 ● Paper Requirements and writing ● Bibliography Requirements– it’s set! Paper Writing Rough Draft due–in STC In A238 Annotated Bibliography |
Wildkit Academy on 2/10 with Ms. NordH Wildkit Academy on 2/24 with Ms. Nord H |
|
2/26 Annotated Bibliography Due |
In A238 Presentations Introduced |
In A238 No School for Block 7 on 2/29 Late Start for Block 6 on 3/1 Presentations |
|
|
3/4 Presentations Presentation Outline due the day of YOUR presentation |
In A238 Presentations |
In A238 Presentations |
Wildkit Academy on 3/9 with Ms. Nord H |
|
3/11 Final Draft Due–in STC |
Presentation Evals due |
Reflection Due |
3
|
Final Day of Presentations |
End of Quarter III |
Assignment Dates for the JRP
|
Due Date |
Location |
Assignment Description |
Points |
|
1/22 (M) |
Classroom |
Pre-Research Brainstorm–What do you want for your future? Why? |
10 points, formative |
|
1/22 (M) |
Paper Copy–bottom part returned to Ms. Nord |
Guardian A copy for your adult of our Copy quarter work |
5 formative points |
|
1/26+ 1/27(Th/ F) 1/22 (M) 1/30+ 1/31 (Tu/W) |
Digital Notecards Document Digital Notecards Document Digital Notecards Document |
10 digital Notecards include a notecards citation, a quotation, context for the quote, paraphrase, Sources 1&2 and how it connects to your topic 5 digital Notecards include a notecards citation, a quotation, context for the quote, paraphrase, Sources 3 and how it connects to your topic 10 digital Notecards include a notecards– citation, a quotation, context Sources 4&5 for the quote, paraphrase, and how it connects to your topic |
50 points formative, 5 per notecard 25 points formative, 5 per notecard 50 points formative, 5 per notecard |
|
2/5 (M) |
Classroom |
Evidence Evidence organized for Collection implementation into the with Thesis outline |
20 points, formative |
|
2/6+2/7 (Tu/W) |
Classroom |
Outline Outline should be at a minimum an organizational piece showing your thesis, highlighting topics for each |
****50 formative points |
4
|
paragraph, as well as which pieces of evidence will go into each paragraph |
|||
|
2/15+ 2/16 (Th/F) |
Classroom & Printed Copy |
Rough Draft 750-1500 words Best current draft of piece |
30 points summative |
|
2/26 (M) 3/1-3/13 (all week) |
Classroom Classroom |
Annotated Document includes source Bibliography and author name, MLA citation, a summary of the text, an analysis of how it connects to your guiding question, and your thoughts on it Outline of Document organizes what presentation you will be sharing with the class about your topic |
50 summative points 10 formative points |
|
3/2-3/15 (M-F) (NOT 3/13) |
Presentation |
Google slides, Teach and inform Prezi, classmates about your Animoto, etc. project–your reflection of what you learned, and why it matters. |
25 summative points |
|
3/11 (M) |
Must be printed and submitted on Google Classroom |
Final Draft Complete and edited–best copy–demonstrates your mastery Submit with your rough draft and it’s edits |
300 summative points |
|
3/11 |
Final Draft must be printed and submitted on Google Classroom ***Ms. Nord will put this in HAC*** |
Effective Everyday your Final Draft Effort is late, you will lose 10 points, until there is a 0 in the category; YOU and I will also be calling home and contacting counselors and other members of your support team if you are behind. |
10 formative points |
5
|
3/12+ 3/13 (Tu/W) |
Classroom |
Evaluation of What did you learn from Presentations your classmates? |
10 formative points |
|
3/14+ 3/15 (Th/F) |
Classroom |
Reflection What did you learn from your JRP about yourself, your learning, your writing, your research, etc? |
20 formative points |
|
3/15 (F) |
End |
of Quarter III |
!!! |
6
