Tonight’s HW:
Choose two of the controversial social issues listed below, and complete the “question-asking activity” to write at least 10 questions for each of the two issues (20+ questions total).
Label all of your questions as either “open” or “closed” ended.
Prioritize 2-3 “most important questions” from each list, and identify them somehow, by highlighting them or writing them separately.
Submit your work on Google Classroom or bring it with you on paper tomorrow.
(Some Topics Brainstormed in Class)
Sports and concussion
Sports and athletes (What metrics determine greatest in a sport for us? Jordan/LeBron, etc.
Death penalty
Right to bear arms
NCAA paying athletes
Immigration
Abortion rights
Politics and there being less of a middle ground today
Obesity . . .
Animal Rights
Schools & Metal Detectors
College loan forgiveness
For-profit prisons
College Access
Military and Artificial Intelligence
Military
Military and recruiting
Child support
U.S. companies/privacy and AI
Religious tax exemptions
Politics and politicians
Foster care system
Child welfare system
Vaccines
Inflation
The economy
Incarceration rates
Area 51
Racial profiling
How do judge fame or greatness in our country? How is it related to power and accountability? (Jeffrey Epstein, Michael Jackson, etc.)
Child labor
Free speech/hate speech
Police violence
Poverty
Gender equality
Pay gap
Public welfare
Wealth gap
Racial discrimination
LGBTQ+ rights
AI and education
Annotated Bibliography 101
An annotated bibliography is an informative list of the sources that you used for your project. It is made up of MLA citations, summaries, and analyses. The reason for making an annotated bibliography is to be sure that the sources you are using for your project are varied, reliable, and informative. A good annotated bibliography touches on the following areas/points:
Summary of the source.
Credibility of the source and its author.
Relevance of the source to your topic.
For your annotated bibliography, you need to include at least seven sources. If you’ve done the notecards on Noodle Tools, then you’ve done most of the work already. These sources should be the same ones that you will quote in your JRP.
*Remember that you need at least TWO PRIMARY SOURCES, such as letters, manuscripts, diaries, journals, statistics, graphs, charts, maps, speeches, interviews, documents produced by government agencies, photographs, audio or video recordings, etc.
*More than half of your sources need to have authors listed.
Directions (also explained in the attached video).
On Noodle Tools, click on the “eye” in the top right corner and make sure you check “notecards” in order to show the notecards.
On Noodle Tools, use CTRL-C to copy what you wrote on your notecard for “paraphrase” and what you wrote for “My Ideas.”
Paste this into the “annotation” part of that same source by clicking on the three dots and then “Edit”.
Scroll down to find the “annotation” part of the source and use “CTRL-V” to paste what you got from the notecard into the annotation.
Get rid of all of the spaces between the “paraphrase” and the “My Ideas” section that you copied and pasted. Make it all one paragraph. If necessary, write more about the credibility of the source. Is it current (2018 or even more recent)? Is it from a respected news agency or publisher? Is the author listed, and does that author have any credibility? Does it seem biased? None of these are deal-breakers on their own, but together they may be.
Don’t forget to click “Save”.
Repeat steps 2-5 for all seven of your sources. Click “Save” each time.
When you’re finished with all seven sources, use Noodle Tools to export your completed annotated bibliography to a Google Doc. First, click on the print/export icon on the top of the list of sources and choose “Formatting Options”.
Make sure you set all of the formatting options to be as you see in this image. The title should be “Annotated Bibliography,” you should include your last name where it asks for it, and you should choose “citations AND annotations”.
Click on the “Print/Export” icon again and this time, instead of formatting options, choose “Print/Export to Google Docs” and it will do the rest for you!
Sample: You don’t need to use different colors. That’s just to show the three parts: summary, credibility, and relevance.
Annotated Bibliography
Frauenheim, Ed. “Stop Reading This Headline and Get Back to Work.” CNET
News.com. CNET Networks, 11 July 2005. Web. 17 Feb. 2006. (source
citation). The author examines the results of a study of ten thousand employees conducted by America Online and Salary.com, which found that the Internet was the most popular means of wasting time at work. Frauenheim notes that the extra time spent surfing the Internet is costing companies an estimated $759 billion a year but also quotes the senior vice president at Salary.com and a director at America Online, who argue that employee Internet use actually increases productivity and creativity in the workplace. Frauenheim suggests that the increase in personal Internet use at work might result from a longer average workday and that use of the Internet has made employees more efficient, giving them more free time to waste. This is written by Ed Frauenheim, who is a journalist with 15 years of experience writing about various work-related topics. There does not seem to be any bias in this article because Ed is an outsider looking at the data and merely interpreting it. This information is old (2005), but it’s useful for a project on technology and the workplace because it helps to support the point that employers should regulate the amount of time and the types of sites employees are allowed to use. This article gives evidence to refute the counterargument that freedom to surf the web actually supports more creativity.
