LibGuides: 2025 Ehmke -- Civics in Action: Home

Databases Shown in Class

Use this link if you are IN SCHOOL:

1. Opposing Viewpoints

2. SIRS Researcher

3. UMI Proquest

Use this link if you are AT HOME:

1. Opposing Viewpoints

2. SIRS Researcher

3. UMI Proquest

Assignment

Civics In Action/Envision Evanston 2045

Quarter 3: Researching Your Focus Issue

Now that you have chosen your CIA Project issue, it is time to collect information about this issue and learn more about it. You will be completing an annotated bibliography to help you organize your information. In the box below, please describe your issue by answering the questions listed.

QUESTION	MRS. EHMKE’S EXAMPLE	YOUR RESPONSE
What is your topic? Be as specific as you can. (For example, if you say “social justice,” what specifically are you going to be studying?)	I am interested in animal welfare. I am specifically interested in trying to reduce the number of stray cats and dogs that are out on the streets without homes.
Why did you choose it? Why does it matter to you? Why is it important to study?	It is important to me because, as a cat mom, I value the companionship that pets can provide. I also believe that animals have thoughts and feelings like humans, so I want to be sure they are being treated well.
What do you hope to accomplish by addressing it? You may not know exactly what your project is yet, but what are some ideas you have?	I would like to hold a fundraiser in order to raise money to donate to the Skokie Animal Shelter so that they can buy more supplies, expand their housing capacity, and encourage more people to adopt pets so that less animals are on the streets.

Part 1: The Annotated Bibliography - Due dates listed below.

Next, you will conduct research on sources that will be relevant in helping you to learn more information about your issue. As you do your research, you will complete an Annotated Bibliography.

What is an Annotated Bibliography?

A bibliography is a list of sources used in a research project. An annotated bibliography takes it further. In addition to listing each source, you also summarize the source, assess its reliability, and reflect on how the source will be useful for you in this project.

Your annotated bibliography will have at least THREE entries total, one for each source you wish to use. If you found more than THREE sources, choose THREE for this annotated bibliography. The sources you choose should highlight different perspectives on your topic.

Each entry will include (you will also see these questions in the document boxes below):

1. Bibliographic Citation

Using proper MLA format, state the title, author, publication date, etc. One resource you may want to use is the following website from the Purdue OWL.

2. Summary

Write a one-paragraph summary that includes all of the following:

What is the topic of the article?
What are the main points or arguments the author is making?
What are 3 - 4 key facts or examples in this article?

3. Reliability Assessment

Write a one-paragraph assessment that includes all of the following:

Who is the author, and what are his/her qualifications?
Is the information current or outdated?
What bias in this source should you be aware of?
What is the author’s purpose, and how might this affect the source’s reliability?

4. Reflection

Write a one-paragraph reflection that includes all of the following:

How can you use this source in your research project?
How does this source relate to our course question? (How should we balance the rights of individuals with the common good?)
What information or perspectives does this source not offer?

Below are the due dates for the various parts of the annotated bibliography:

Thursday, February 13	Meet in East Library - Learn about resources and time to research.
Thursday, February 20	Meet in East Library - Annotated Bibliography Entry #1 due!
Tuesday, February 25	Annotated Bibliography Entry #2 due!
Tuesday, March 4	Annotated Bibliography Entry #3 AND Final History and Perspectives Questions Reflection due!